Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Dvořák’s Symphony No.8

Dvořák’s Symphony No.8

Symphonic brilliance

Olivia DAVIES New Work (World Premiere)
Camille SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No.5 Egyptian
Antonín DVOŘÁK Symphony No.8

Dmitry Matvienko conductor
Konstantin Shamray piano
Dmitry Matvienko makes his WASO debut in this richly romantic program. Inspired by the Bohemian folk music that he loved, Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony is simply sublime, overflowing with gorgeous melodies that speak straight to the heart.

Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concerto combines his uniquely French clarity and élan with shimmering musical influences from Java, Spain and the Middle-East – a perfect vehicle for the sophisticated virtuosity of Konstantin Shamray.

We open with a world premiere from WASO Composer in Residence, Olivia Davies, whose own musical language is distinctive and nuanced.
Olivia Davies’ New Work commissioned for WASO by Prue Ashurst.
  • Clock Icon

    Event Showings

    2 & 3 Aug | 7:30pm

  • Dollar Icon


    Free event

  • Location Marker Icon


    Perth Concert Hall

    5 St Georges Terrace

    Perth WA 6000

  • Wheelchair Icon


    ACROD Parking

    Wheelchair access