Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Karina Canellakis WASO

Karina Canellakis & Nig Feng: Russian Masterworks

Music of war and freedom from Prokofiev and Shostakovich.

The most profound of Shostakovich’s ‘War Symphonies’ echoes the suffering of 1943 on a tremendous scale, ferocious and harrowing. A statement of personal grief amid mass devastation, the poignant ending yearns not for heroic victory, but for peace.

Prokofiev was on the verge of returning to Russia after decades in the West when he wrote his bittersweet Second Violin Concerto. Ning Feng returns to astonish WASO audiences with his effortless, soaring virtuosity.

PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No.2

Karina Canellakis conductor (pictured) (WASO debut)
Ning Feng violin

Meet the Artist
 Karina Canellakis / Post-concert Saturday night

Meet the Artist is supported by Wesfarmers Arts
  • Clock Icon

    Event Showings

    23 and 24 Nov '18 | 7:30pm

  • Dollar Icon


    From $28

  • Location Marker Icon


    5 St Georges Terrace

    Perth WA 6000